Raven Chacon, John Luther Adams, Georg Friedrich Haas, Hildegard Westerkamp & Tristan Murail @ Orpheum Annex

Raven Chacon, John Luther Adams, Georg Friedrich Haas, Hildegard Westerkamp & Tristan Murail @ Orpheum Annex

VNM Festival - Sonic Topographies

Vancouver New Music Festival 2014 Sonic Topographies Sound, music, and sustainability October 16 – 19, 2014

Composers and sound artists all over the world are turning their ears to the music of the earth and its people to reconsider what artistic creation means in a context that fosters sustainable ideas about creativity, culture, and tradition. The festival showcases composers, musicians and sound artists who are fostering new, sound-based explorations of ideas that emerge from natural, interlocking cycles and alternative systems of thought.

Tickets Single tickets $35 regular, $15 students (includes taxes and venue surcharges); available at brownpapertickets.com and 1.800.838.3006 (ticket vendor surcharges apply).

Buy a festival pass and save 20% Festival passes for all four concerts are $112; available from brownpapertickets.com or 1.800.838.3006. [Buy festival pass]

Friday, October 17, 2014
8PM concert | 7PM artist talk with Raven Chacon and Leslie García
Orpheum Annex (823 Seymour Street, 2nd floor) [map]
Tickets $35 regular, $15 students (includes taxes and venue surcharges) [Buy tickets]

Raven Chacon (US)
From the Navajo Nation, Raven Chacon uses unique instruments in this live performance: bone whistles, light-drums, and antler harps, in addition to voice, are all processed and over-driven by various electronic and electric devices. Chacon’s music ranges in dynamics from meditative quiet hums to abrasive scrapes and piercing screeches, speeding up and slowing down throughout its course.
www.spiderwebsinthesky.com | www.postcommodity.com

John Luther Adams (US)
The Light Within (2007)
For alto flute, bass clarinet, vibraphone/crotales, piano, violin, cello, and electronics.
Vancouver’s Ethos Collective perform Adam’s The Light Within, a sublimely textured work for small ensemble inspired by installation artist James Turrell’s explorations of light and space.

Georg Friedrich Haas (Austria/US)
Sextett (1992/1996)
For flute, clarinet, percussion, piano, violin and violoncello.
Written in 1992 and completely reworked in 1996, Haas’ Sextett begins with two voices, moving in quarter-tones, evolving into a complex, and precise exploration of pitch, in concert with the “absence or loss of pitch” (UE). Sextett will be performed by Ethos Collective (Vancouver).

Hildegard Westerkamp (Vancouver)
Like a Memory (2002)
For piano and two electroacoustic soundtracks.
Like a Memory explores that area of aural perception in which we hear music in sounds and sounds in music, where scrap metal structures become musical instruments and the piano becomes a strange sound sculpture.

Tristan Murail (France)
Territoires de l’oubli (1977)
For solo piano.
Murail’s longest single-movement work to date, Territoires de l’oubli is a massive exploration of the piano’s resonance, unfolding in a huge curve of continuously evolving textures. Masterfully performed by William Fried (US), this is a musical experience not to be missed!